Self-initiated Ph.D. Research: Learning from and Writing with a Peer from a Different Major

Mazba Ahamad
4 min readMay 11, 2020
Photo Source: https://pixabay.com/vectors/books-library-shelf-line-art-4109214/

During the final year of my Ph.D., I was working on an independent research paper related to my doctoral dissertation research, which was primarily based on a previous course paper. To analyze the data, I used a standard analytical approach related to my primary research field. During the drafting stage, I noticed that the visualization of my results would be more compelling to the prospective readers and would likewise be helpful to the policy analysts. Because it was an overreaching trend in my subject, it may increase the possibility of being published in a reputable journal.

Unfortunately, I did not have the needed skills related to data and result visualizations. Students with the same major with whom I constantly communicated were also unaware of this technique. So, I started reading related analytical procedures from open resources, particularly reviewing free online courses and viewing video tutorials. The learning progress was slow because I was highly engaged in writing my dissertation chapters. At some point, I stopped working on that paper and moved the folder from “ongoing research” to folder no. 5 of my “planned research” portfolio on my computer. Doing so, I felt bad that it will never reopen like the previous four studies in the same portfolio.

--

--

Mazba Ahamad
0 Followers

I am an applied economist; and develop statistical, ML, forecast, & predictive modeling-based business decision/growth strategies and policy insights.